May 2015

DateEventLocation
Saturday, Jan 31–Sunday, May 17
5:00 pm
Astronomical: Photographs of Our Solar System and Beyond

The evolution of photography has been inextricably bound up with the field of astronomy. Since photography's earliest days, it has been used as a tool to advance astronomical observation and thought, yielding some of the most curious and compelling images in the medium's history. Featuring works by a diversity of makers ranging from pioneering scientists to artists and amateurs, this exhibition surveys mankind's ongoing efforts to chart and understand an expanding universe.

Center for Creative Photography Gallery
1030 N. Olive Rd.

Free to the public
Center for Creative Photography Gallery: Room
Friday, May 1
9:00 am
Final Ph.D. Defense: Youngmin JeongAhn
Final Defense
Ph.D. in Planetary Sciences

Youngmin JeongAhn
Department of Planetary Sciences

Orbital Distribution of Minor Planets in the Inner Solar System and their Impact Flux on the Moon, Earth and Mars
Kuiper Space Sciences: Room 309
Tuesday, May 5–Tuesday, May 5
3:45 pm — 5:00 pm
LPL Graduate Student Colloquia: Hannah Tanquary and Shane Stone
Hannah Tanquary
Graduate Student in the Department of Planetary Sciences

Shane Stone
Graduate Student in the Department of Planetary Sciences
Kuiper Space Sciences: Room 312
Wednesday, May 6
Last day of classes
Thursday, May 7
Reading Day - no classes
Friday, May 8
Final examinations begin
Wednesday, May 13
7:30 pm
Space Drafts Public Talk Series
Alessondra Springmann

Borderlands Brewing Co.
119 E. Toole Ave.
Borderlands Brewing Co.: Room
Thursday, May 14
Final examinations end
Thursday, May 14
2:00 pm
College of Science Spring 2015 Commencement Ceremony
McKale Center: Room
Saturday, May 16
7:30 pm
U of A Spring 2015 Commencement Ceremony
Arizona Stadium: Room
Monday, May 25
Memorial Day Holiday: no classes