ESA Postdoctoral Fellowships in Space Science


The aim of the ESA Research Fellowships is to provide young scientists, holding a Ph.D. or the equivalent degree, with the means of performing space science research in fields related to the ESA Science Programme. Areas of research include planetary science, astronomy and astrophysics, solar and solar-terrestrial science, plasma physics and fundamental physics. ESA awards several postdoctoral fellowships each year. The fellowships are tenable at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC) in Noordwijk, Netherlands, or at the European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC) in Villafranca del Castillo, near Madrid, Spain.

The fellowships are open to nationals of ESA Member States (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom) and to nationals of states adhering to the PECS cooperation scheme (Canada, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Romania).

Funding Source

European Space Agency

How to Apply

Preference will be given to applications submitted by candidates within five years of receiving their Ph.D. Candidates not holding a Ph.D. yet are encouraged to apply, but they must provide evidence of receiving their degree before starting the fellowship. Apply online.


October 1, 2015

Award amounts & Award process

More information on the ESA Research Fellowship programme in Space Science, on the conditions and eligibility, as well as the application form can be found at: European Space Agency For more information e-mail Guido De Marchi.