The University of Arizona

LPL: The Newsletter
Alumni Updates

Newsletter home

Fred Ciesla awarded 2011 Nier Prize

Congratulations to Fred Ciesla (2003), the 2011 recipient of the Alfred O. Nier Prize. The Meteoritical Society presents this award annually to the outstanding young scientist working on meteorites, impact craters, asteroids, and related fields. Fred is currently Assistant Professor, Department of Geophysical Sciences, at The University of Chicago.

Jonathan Fortney receives Urey Prize

Please join us in congratulating Jonathan Fortney (2004), the 2010 recipient of the Urey Prize in Planetary Science awarded by The Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society. The Urey Prize recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in planetary sciences by a young scientist.

Jonathan is Assistant Professor in the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, University of California, Santa Cruz. In February of 2010, he was awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship. Congratulations, Jonathan!

Congratulations Maki Hattori and Brian Jackson

Maki Hattori (2008) and Brian Jackson (2009) were married on April 18, 2010. Congratulations and best wishes from everyone at LPL!

Contents Fall 2010 Department News
Faculty Updates
Grad Student News
Alumni Updates
LPL in the News