Hitachi Electron Microscopy Scholarship

The Kuiper-Arizona Laboratory for Astromaterials Analysis is pleased to administer the annual Hitachi Scholarship in Electron Microscopy. This scholarship is established by Hitachi High-Technologies as part of their partnership with University of Arizona. Funds in the amount of $5,000 per year have been provided and will be awarded equally to two graduate students generating cutting-edge research and publications in the area of electron microscopy. The award is not restricted to students in a particular department, but the research is expected to be conducted in materials science broadly defined.


  • The student must have completed their second year of graduate studies
  • Be in good standing in their program in order to be considered
  • The research area of the recipient must include analytical electron microscopy
  • The laboratory work must include the use of at least one of the Hitachi microscopes available in the KMICF

Required Materials:

Applicants must submit an application that includes:

  • A C.V.
  • A written statement from the student, maximum of two pages, that describes their research and addresses salient points of what they are doing, why, its importance to the field, and the critical role of electron microscopy in their research
  • A brief statement of support from the faculty advisor

Other Materials:

Applicants are encouraged to send any preprints or reprints of their work that highlights the use of electron microscopy.

Funding Source:

Hitachi High-Technologies in partnership with the University of Arizona

How to Apply:

Award announcement and information about required application items will be circulated to students in advance of the annual application deadline (usually February). Send application materials as described below as a PDF file to: by the annual advertised deadline. Questions may be directed to that same email address.

Award Eligibility:

Two graduate students at the University of Arizona.



Award amounts & Award process:

$5,000 per student. Recipients are selected by the award review committee.