Amelia Earhart Fellowship (Zonta International)

The Amelia Earhart Fellowship was established in 1938 in honor of famed pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart. The US$10,000 Fellowship is awarded annually to up to 35 women pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace engineering and space sciences. It may be used at any university or college offering accredited post-graduate courses and degrees in these fields.  Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta has awarded 1,674 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$11 million, to 1,245 women from 75 countries. Fellows have gone on to become astronauts, aerospace engineers, astronomers, professors, geologists, business owners, heads of companies, even Secretary of the U.S. Air Force.

Year Student Advisor
2023 Wilbur, Zoë Barnes
2023 Benner, Maizey Zega
2022 Shoemaker, Emileigh Carter
2021 Ganesh, Indujaa Carter
2020 Voigt, Joana Hamilton